The Sports Informant

Your inside source for West Coast sports. Yeah, it rhymes.

Masters tourney sends wrestlers to state

The 2011 CIF Sac-Joaquin Section Masters Wrestling Championships were held at Stockton Arena Feb. 25-26, showcasing the best wrestlers in the Sacramento area.

Champions were crowned in each weight class, but even more importantly, berths to this weekend’s state tournament were earned.

The CIF State Championships will be held at Rabobank Arena in Bakersfield March 4-5.

Fourteen champions earned top seeds coming out of the section. Emilio Saavedra of Pitman High earned the 103-pound division crown, while Garrett Fortado of Oakdale won at 112 pounds, Martin Ramirez of Elk Grove won at 119 pounds, Fabian Garcia of Turlock won at 125 pounds, Shayne Tucker of Bella Vista won at 130 pounds, Dalton Metivier of Lincoln won at 135 pounds, Austin Branum of Del Oro won at 140 pounds, Jake Elliott of Oakmont won at 145 pounds, Kevin Burrage of Del Oro won at 152 pounds, Vince Waldhauser of Oak Ridge won at 160 pounds, Trent Noon of Oakdale won at 171 pounds, Jordan Sepeda of Natomas won at 189 pounds, AC Brown of Oakdale won at 215 pounds and Johnny Schupp of Vacaville won at 285 pounds.

With three champions, Oakdale also won the team title, beating out annual favorite Vacaville.

Trent Noon of Oakdale, top, works on Vacaville’s Hudson Buck in the 171-pound championship. (Photo courtesy of Cathy Fader)

Results from placing matches are below, courtesy of

Championship matches
103: Emilio Saavedra, Pitman, Fall Gionn Peralta, Vacaville, 3:40
112: Garrett Fortado, Oakdale, Dec. Blaze Fidler, Golden Valley, 4-2
119: Martin Ramirez, Elk Grove, M-Dec vs. Alex Greybill, Ponderosa, 18-4
125: Fabian Garcia, Turlock M-Dec Auston Wulfert, Casa Roble, 17-4
130: Shayne Tucker, Bella Vista M-Dec Dylan Jankovich, Roseville, 11-1
135: Dalton Metivier, Lincoln-S Dec Shane Tate, Oakdale, 3-2
140: Austin Branum, Del Oro Dec Kai Loechler, Vacaville, 6-3
145: Jake Elliott, Oakmont Dec Keaton Subjeck, Oak Ridge, 7-3
152: Kevin Burrage, Del Oro Dec Tyler Thomas, Pioneer, 5-2
160: Vince Waldhauser, Oak Ridge Dec Jim Wilson, McNair, 9-3
171: Trent Noon, Oakdale Dec Hudson Buck, Vacaville, 6-2
189: Jordan Sepeda, Natomas Dec Khymba Johnson, Center, 4-3
215: AC Brown, Oakdale M-Dec Malique Micenheimer, McNair, 12-2
285: Johnny Schupp, Vacaville M-Dec Gavin Andrews, Granite Bay, 12-2

Action from Masters

Photos courtesy of Cathy Fader

3rd Place:
103: Ulysses Juan, West Dec Lathan Liles, Rodriguez, 5-1
112: Kasey Klaus, Vacaville Dec Danny Inong, Elk Grove, 6-0
119: Connor Pollock, Folsom Dec Quinn Walker, Woodcreek, 8-7
125: Jesus Manriquez, Rodriguez Fall Julian Terry, Golden Valley, 4:57
130: Cody Tow, Union Mine Dec Tanner Feuerstein, Oakdale, 3-0
135: Devin Nanik, Bret Harte Dec Nick Ghannam, Rodriguez, 1-0
140: Sean Tow, Union Mine Dec Shane Keefe, Rocklin, 5-2
145: David Ferry, Oakdale Dec Brent Rees, Vacaville, 7-5
152: Dustin Harris, Oakdale Dec Dillon Mueller, Bella Vista, 1-0
160: Foster Fretland, Del Oro Dec Drake Dorowski, El Camino, 9-2
171: Allen Emmons, Ponderosa Dec Mitch Woods, Union Mine, 4-2
189: Steve Arrambide, Vintage Dec Monti Wilson, Calaveras, 8-1
215: Josh Letuligasenoa, Elk Grove Dec Richard Black, Chavez, 3-1
285: Michael Lowman, Foothill Dec Bryan Hayashida, Elk Grove, 6-1

5th Place:
103 Juan Garza, Oakdale Dec Kevin Tarp, Foothill, 5-0
112 Justin Martin Del Camp, West T-Fall Gabriel Balderas, Ceres, 17-2
119 Juan Gudino, Bear River Fall Ronnie Stevens, Oakdale, 2:34
125 Tyler Klinkhammer, Pitman Dec Andrew Broadland, Granite Bay, 9-2
130 Adam Pain, Rodriguez Fall Andrew Perez, Pitman, 1:35
135 Peter Santos, Woodcreek M-Dec Justin Brown, Calaveras, 9-0
140 Angelo Ciaraglia, Woodcreek Dec Laith Alnassiri, Sheldon, 3-1
145 Ray Lomas, Central Catholic Dec Johnny Cooley, Granite Bay, 9-2
152 Adam Wagner, Granite Bay Frft Forfeit, Nevada Union
160 David Call, Bella Vista Dec Alex Harrington, Mariposa, 5-2
171 Yevgeniy Isayev, Cordova Dflt Alex Nuanez, Sierra
189 Tyler Huckaby, Tracy Dec William Anderson, Granite Bay, 4-3
215 Joey Ramos, Rocklin Dec Travis Smith, Ripon, 7-3
285 Kris Merrill, West Dec Jordan Alleva, Folsom, 3-1

7th Place
103 Jacob Lopez, Elk Grove Dec Jason Valdovinos, Turlock, 3-1
112 Jobel Cabigting, Bethel Dec Jory Gemignani, Bear River, 10-6
119 Grant Burkhalter, Bella Vista Dec Gary Thao, McNair, 10-4
125 Tim Ditrich, Ponderosa Dec Matt Bettencourt, Elk Grove, 6-1
130 Jeremy Newman, Woodland M-Dec Tim Warren, Napa, 16-0
135 Landon Burkhalter, Bella Vista Dec Braden Henderson, Elk Grove, 9-3
140 Jorge Munoz, Los Banos Dec Max Francesconi, Elk Grove, 3-2
145 Blake Matis, Casa Roble Dec Jesse McDaniel, Hughson, 9-2
152 Tony Delgado, Vacaville Dec Tanner Sherrow, Bret Harte, 6-1
160 Scott Votino, Elk Grove Dec Dustin Halverson, Dixon, 11-5
171 Michael Haman, Hogan Dec Brodie Ward, Wood, 2-1
189 Roger Baines, Sheldon Dec Jeramy Sweany, Vacaville, 2-0
215 Chris Lai, Vacaville Dec Luis Bojorquez, Buhach Colony, 3-2
285 Riley Nooner, Ponderosa Dec Andrew Fuimaono, Armijo, 3-2

Brackets for the upcoming state tournament, including pairings showcasing who qualified from the Sac-Joaquin Section, are available here:


1 comment, add yours!
  1. October 10th, 2015 at 1:18 am by Manzano

    Well..according to Mr. dude, the icnd2 Actualtests and Testking are not updated, even if they chaegnd their date of update. That means they are trying to fool the buyers, which the dump companies often do to increase their sales.P4S is also not updated for icnd2 exam. You can check their website. I think they’ve gone to sleep mode after july31st.The only one dump left is testinside and i don’t think they are updated too. In fact all dump makers are pretty much dead nowadays. They all are copying each other…And so? What’s your plain, CareerCert?

Leave a Reply

  • "I’m representing only two voices, and neither of them is dictated by company propaganda. These voices are mine and yours." -Patrick Ibarra, Founder
  • Suggestions?

    Nunc consequat turpis ac eros. Nam vestibulum ligula sit amet orci. Proin vitae felis. Maecenas in enim.
  • Meta